Egypt is a country located in North Africa.


A person from Egypt is a Egyptian.

Capital City

The capital city of Egypt is Cairo.


Egyptian Pound (EGP) .

Languages of Egypt

Egypt has 11 languages, 9 actively spoken, 1 endangered and 1 extinct.

To explore the major languages in Egypt, click/hover on the highlighted parts of the map.

For a comprehensive list of all the languages in the country, go to the list of languages section.

Note: Please be aware that the map provided is designed to give you a general overview of the major languages in Egypt and should not be considered as a representation of the exact regions where each language is actively spoken.