Mauritania is a country located in West Africa.


A person from Mauritania is a Mauritanian.

Capital City

The capital city of Mauritania is Nouakchott.


Mauritanian Ouguiya (MRO) .

Languages of Mauritania

Mauritania has 10 languages, 9 actively spoken, 1 endangered and 0 extinct.

To explore the major languages in Mauritania, click/hover on the highlighted parts of the map.

For a comprehensive list of all the languages in the country, go to the list of languages section.

Note: Please be aware that the map provided is designed to give you a general overview of the major languages in Mauritania and should not be considered as a representation of the exact regions where each language is actively spoken.