Algeria is a country located in North Africa.


A person from Algeria is a Algerian.

Capital City

The capital city of Algeria is Algiers.


Algerian Dinar (DZD) .

Languages of Algeria

Algeria has 25 languages, 17 actively spoken, 8 endangered and 0 extinct.

To explore the major languages in Algeria, click/hover on the highlighted parts of the map.

For a comprehensive list of all the languages in the country, go to the list of languages section.

Note: Please be aware that the map provided is designed to give you a general overview of the major languages in Algeria and should not be considered as a representation of the exact regions where each language is actively spoken.