Lesotho is a country located in Southern Africa.


A person from Lesotho is a Mosotho(singular)/Basotho(plural).

Capital City

The capital city of Lesotho is Maseru.


Lesotho Loti (LSL) .

Languages of Lesotho

Lesotho has 8 languages, 6 actively spoken, 1 endangered and 1 extinct.

To explore the major languages in Lesotho, click/hover on the highlighted parts of the map.

For a comprehensive list of all the languages in the country, go to the list of languages section.

Note: Please be aware that the map provided is designed to give you a general overview of the major languages in Lesotho and should not be considered as a representation of the exact regions where each language is actively spoken.