Madagascar is a country located in East Africa.


A person from Madagascar is a Malagasy.

Capital City

The capital city of Madagascar is Antananarivo.


Malagasy Ariary (MGA) .

Languages of Madagascar

Madagascar has 20 languages, 20 actively spoken, 0 endangered and 0 extinct.

To explore the major languages in Madagascar, click/hover on the highlighted parts of the map.

For a comprehensive list of all the languages in the country, go to the list of languages section.

Note: Please be aware that the map provided is designed to give you a general overview of the major languages in Madagascar and should not be considered as a representation of the exact regions where each language is actively spoken.