Swahili Language

Swahili also known as Kiswahili is a language spoken in Burundi, Comoros, Congo drc, Kenya, Madagascar, Mozambique, Rwanda, Somalia, Tanzania and Uganda by the Waswahili people.

Swahili language has approximately 100,000,000 native speakers.

A person who speaks Swahili is known as Mswahili(singular) and Waswahili(plural).

Swahili is an official language in Kenya and Tanzania.

The language has 3 dialects; Kiunguja (Spoken in Zanzibar and mailand Tanzania), Kimvita(Mombasa) and Kiamu(spoken in Lamu).

Swahili is the easiest  African Language to learn. It is also straightforward to read as you read out Swahili words just how they are written.

Begin your journey to understand the Swahili language with Sarufi ya Kiswahili . This resource covers the essentials, from parts of speech to sentences and sounds, making learning the language a breeze.

Learn everyday and popular Swahili language phrases and their meaning in English, including greetings, directions, love words and many day-to-day conversations.

Join the Community

We are on a mission to document and preserve all native languages in Africa and help many people learn these languages while at it.

Join the movement by adding definitions in your mother tongue.

Your name will forever be carved in history as the person who kept that word alive.

Hundreds of native speakers are adding definitions every single day.

Comprehensive instructions on how to contribute are available in the Help Page

If you can help us accomplish this mission in any other way, say you wan't to become a sponsor, provide recordings or written text of your language or suggest corrections/additions to the data on this page, feel free to reach out to us here: [email protected].

Thanks for the feedback.

Setting up an account is free! Login to leave a like.