Tanzania is a country located in East Africa.


A person from Tanzania is a Tanzanian.

Capital City

The capital city of Tanzania is Dodoma (official); Dar es Salaam (de facto).


Tanzanian Shilling (TZS) .

Languages of Tanzania

Tanzania has 147 languages, 134 actively spoken, 10 endangered and 3 extinct.

To explore the major languages in Tanzania, click/hover on the highlighted parts of the map.

For a comprehensive list of all the languages in the country, go to the list of languages section.

Note: Please be aware that the map provided is designed to give you a general overview of the major languages in Tanzania and should not be considered as a representation of the exact regions where each language is actively spoken.