Chaga Language

Chaga also known as Kichaga or Kichagga is a language spoken in Mount Kilimanjaro area and northern parts of Tanzania by the WaChaga people.

Chaga language has approximately 1,400,000 native speakers.

A person who speaks Chaga is known as Mchaga.

The language has 9 dialects; Kivunjo, Kimachame, Kingassa, Kimarangu, Kirombo, Kisiha, Kikibosho, Kiuru and Kioldimoshi.

Join the Community

We are on a mission to document and preserve all native languages in Africa and help many people learn these languages while at it.

Join the movement by adding a definition in your mother tongue.

If you can help us accomplish this mission in any other way, say provide recordings or written text of your language or suggest corrections/additions to the data on this page, feel free to reach out to us here: [email protected].

Thanks for the feedback.

Setting up an account is free! Login to leave a like.