Malawi is a country located in Southern Africa.


A person from Malawi is a Malawian.

Capital City

The capital city of Malawi is Lilongwe.


Malawian Kwacha (MWK) .

Languages of Malawi

Malawi has 16 languages, 16 actively spoken, 0 endangered and 0 extinct.

To explore the major languages in Malawi, click/hover on the highlighted parts of the map.

For a comprehensive list of all the languages in the country, go to the list of languages section.

Note: Please be aware that the map provided is designed to give you a general overview of the major languages in Malawi and should not be considered as a representation of the exact regions where each language is actively spoken.