South Africa is a country located in Southern Africa.


A person from South Africa is a South African.

Capital City

The capital city of South Africa is Pretoria (administrative); Cape Town (legislative); Bloemfontein (judicial).


South African Rand (ZAR) .

Languages of South Africa

South Africa has 48 languages, 39 actively spoken, 6 endangered and 3 extinct.

To explore the major languages in South Africa, click/hover on the highlighted parts of the map.

For a comprehensive list of all the languages in the country, go to the list of languages section.

Note: Please be aware that the map provided is designed to give you a general overview of the major languages in South Africa and should not be considered as a representation of the exact regions where each language is actively spoken.