Ethiopia is a country located in East Africa.


A person from Ethiopia is a Ethiopian.

Capital City

The capital city of Ethiopia is Addis Ababa.


Ethiopian Birr (ETB) .

Languages of Ethiopia

Ethiopia has 115 languages, 97 actively spoken, 16 endangered and 2 extinct.

To explore the major languages in Ethiopia, click/hover on the highlighted parts of the map.

For a comprehensive list of all the languages in the country, go to the list of languages section.

Note: Please be aware that the map provided is designed to give you a general overview of the major languages in Ethiopia and should not be considered as a representation of the exact regions where each language is actively spoken.